“Life is an opportunity, benefit from it.
Life is beauty, admire it.
Life is a dream, realize it.
Life is a challenge, meet it.
Life is a duty, complete it.
Life is a game, play it.
Life is a promise, fulfill it.
Life is sorrow, overcome it.
Life is a song, sing it.
Life is a struggle, accept it.
Life is a tragedy, confront it.
Life is an adventure, dare it.
Life is luck, make it.
Life is too precious, do not destroy it.
Life is life, fight for it.”
― Mother Teresa

There are far too many things that I feel should be covered in a ‘first post’. Why I’m making the blog, who I am, who I’ve been, what I do for a living, what I had for dinner last night (Fettuccine Alfredo with Shrimp). But then, when I sat down to write I ended up going, “I am boring. Why am I making a blog?” and then I wondered if I should be all philosophical and serious (because those are the kinds of things I plan to think about) or if I should be completely bonkers (because I am). I think I’ll settle for philosophically bonkers.

To get to the point…

This blog came about because:

  • I have goals in life, and I want to chronical them (more on that in a sec)
  • I love to write and I think better if I write things down
  • All the cool kids are doing it

Last night I was reading a really awesome blog about a family who has cycled all over the world. (By last night, I mean all day. It is wonderfully interesting and inspiring). As I was reading I could feel that horrible aching feeling that I know all to well that says I want to do big things with my life. So I start looking up articles on how to save for round the world travel or going hiking on the Appalachian Trail, finding different travel blogs of people who’ve cycled more miles than I’ve driven…

I get overwhelmed by how many things I love to do. My hobbies include (but aren’t limited to) writing, reading, sewing, painting, crocheting, knitting, cooking, baking, swimming, cycling, hiking, astronomy, psychology, educational theory, social justice, gaming, cosplaying, television and movies, environmentalism, rats, cats, fish, reading blogs of people who travel the world on bikes… I was wondering what I had forgotten, of the big ones, then I remembered that I’m a professional musician. Yeah, I’m supposed to practice my cello everyday too. And I want to learn so many other skills, instruments, languages, random facts… I know I get bored but, gosh, how do I have the time?

…and then the reality of being fresh out of university, 40k in debt from said university experience, trying to build a career, being out of shape, having a social anxiety disorder… it all sets in. I can’t go travelling, I barely have enough time and mental power to get the dishes done. How can I drop everything for a year? You can’t take a cello on the road and there are other things I do that I need to work at…

So I was pondering this: how can I balance my life to include all the things that are important to me? Can I balance it? Should I throw out a big pile of my metaphorical hats and only keep my favourites? But that’s not going to work. I really do have a passion for all of those things such that I could write a blog about each of them if I had 100 hour days). Eventually, I wrote a list. I asked myself what my big dreams were, and I essentially came down to five.

  1. Publish a Novel
  2. Go Backpacking in New Zealand
  3. Build my Career as a Suzuki Cello Teacher
  4. Create a Sustainable Lifestyle that Works (for me)
  5. Produce, Adopt or Foster a Child

Those are the big ones, the all encompassing goals for my life right now. They’re also things I really envisioned myself doing before I was thirty. After I wrote the list I had a minor panic attack about how I’ll be thirty in five and a half years and that that is really not that long of a time.

Then I thought of the title “Five by Five”, giggled to myself (*teehee* Buffy reference!), decided that meeting those goals was totally doable, and made plans to start a blog about it. What I blog about will follow my whims, but will generally be along the lines of musing on the nature of being twenty-something and on the brink of my life, and on my goals and how I plan to achieve them. It should be a log of my journey though this period of discovery in my life, something I can look back on and go: Man, I was so dumb back then. To think there was a time when I didn’t think about the zombie Apocalypse coming.

Each of these goals can be split into an inexhaustible number of smaller goals and steps, and there are other goals that have nothing to do with them – I have been doing the 101 in 1001 Challenge for about a year. On that list I have things from ‘Receive my Bachelor’s Degree’ (done) to ‘Bake a Souffle’ (Really thought I’d have that one done by now).

Another thing you should know about me is that I’m really, really, terrible at conclusions in writing. My teachers always commented on it.

~Ally

